the world is level again

By thephotodudes

February 22, 2007

Category: Uncategorized

2 Comments »

Dandy sunset this evening – so I ran out to Clinton Lake again. This time I was able to get the horizon straight while laying the camera on the ground. Wish I would have gotten a little more DOF. I shot it at f8, but it’s still pretty soft after the front of the ice. Not exactly sure why.

Nikon D200 with 17-55 f2.8lens | ISO 200 | 1.3 secs @ f8

On my way back from Wichita I dropped by Beaumont to check out the wind farm again. It’s really cool, an I thought I would get a bunch of good photos. I got exactly one good photo in two hours. It was a lot harder than I expected to get something interesting.

Nikon D200 with 17-55 f2.8lens | ISO 100 | 1/80th @ f8

2 Responses to “the world is level again”

  1. I really like the new night shot from Clinton, Doug. The low camera postion really makes it. I also like how it’s difficult to judge the scale. It could almost be an aerial shot with a glassy body of water in the foreground and huge, icy landmass receding into the distance.

    Windfarms are tougher to shoot than they look. Amazing to be out in the middle of those things though, isn’t it?

  2. Thanks for the comments Mike. That photo got really hot on flickr the last couple days. People seem to like the perspective.

    It’s funny you mention the “aerial” comment. Earlier that same day I shot some mossy muck on a pond in the Baker Wetlands. Through the lens it looked like an aerial view of some barren plains. The light was crappy – so I couldn’t really do much with the image.

    The next time I go to the wind farm I hope a tornado is moving through. That might make it easier.

    -doug

Leave a Reply

