Jim Richardson prints on display

By thephotodudes

March 23, 2007

Category: Uncategorized

3 Comments »

I walked over to the Statehouse at lunch to take a look at the display of photos from Jim Richardson’s Flint Hills story for National Geographic. I don’t know how much longer they’ll be there, or where they go next as they tour the state, but they are definitely worth checking out. It really shows you what you can do with a D200… and some skill.

Jim also has a gallery in Lindsborg. He’s a super nice guy. You should stop in if you’re ever out that way.

— Mike

3 Responses to “Jim Richardson prints on display”

  1. I want to be Jim when I grow up. I love this shot. I picked up my copy of NG today to see more of his work. Wow! Can’t wait to see the exhibit.

    -doug

  2. I love this one, too. It really shows someone who “gets” the prairie. To see the shape of the bison’s back and catch the connection between its shape and the landscape… I wish I had done that.

    Lots more good stuff on his website.

  3. I got a chance to dig into Jim’s website a little more. I love his “Basic Bag” blog entry. I carry almost the exact same stuff in my bag – but my photos fall short of his spectacular work. Huh? Must be the photographer. Well, I don’t have the 12-24mm lens yet – someday hopefully. I wonder how much he uses his SB-800 with those cool little color correction filters? I probably need to experiment more with that side of photography.

    Anyway – thanks for the link (and story on your blogsite). I can’t wait to read more about Jim.

    – doug

Leave a Reply

