Magnolia

By thephotodudes

March 23, 2007

Category: Uncategorized

6 Comments »

Magnolia taken under diffuse light.

Photodude: Bruce | Canon 5D with 50mm f/1.4 | ISO 800 | 1/8000 @ f/2.8 | JPEG

Same magnolia taken backlit and repositioned so the background was all blown out sky.

Photodude: Bruce | Canon 5D with 50mm f/1.4 | ISO 800 | 1/8000 @ f/2.8 | JPEG

6 Responses to “Magnolia”

  1. Sweet magnolias Bruce. I like the blown-out version best. I was suprised to see you post spring flower shots – showing your sensitive side, huh?

    I’m going to get off my lazy ass and shoot some spring stuff today. Maybe I’ll put a daffodil in front of the a quonset. Now that would be artful, huh?

    -doug

  2. Yeah, it is kinda femme… I’ll try and do better from now on.

    -Bruce

  3. Oh, don’t get me wrong – I think the shots are fantastic – I was just givin’ you some friendly grief. You should post as many more beautiful nature shots – just try to get the car wash chick in the next shot with the magnolias.

  4. I like the blown-out version, too. It might be cool if it were cropped even tighter so that the flowers broke the border and extended beyond but the simplicity is really nice.

    Those Magnolias are really bustin’ out right now. Seems like the best year for them we’ve had in awhile.

  5. I just realized… ISO 800? 1/8000 of a second? You do know your ISO will go lower, don’t you?

    😉

    You Canon guys…

  6. ISO 800! Holy cow! I really goofed up! I could have been using ISO 1600!

    -Bruce

Leave a Reply

