gnarly redbud

By thephotodudes

April 2, 2007

Category: Uncategorized

4 Comments »

I stumbled onto this gnarly old redbud tree two years ago on the KU campus. I missed the entire spring bloom last year (must have been abducted by aliens – I don’t remember – hope they didn’t dude-probe me). I got this shot on Saturday morning between overcast skies and high winds. I’m really sort of burned out on the spring nature thing – so I better go find something else to shoot soon.

Photodude: Doug • Nikon D200 • Nikkor 17-55mm @ 17mm • ISO 200 • 1/200 @ f/8

4 Responses to “gnarly redbud”

  1. Cool angle on your tree shot. I know exactly what you mean about the whole “spring picture perfect” thing. Nothing much there to get me excited photo-wise. Sort of a been there, done that kind of thing.

    I’m anxious to see what we can do with Durango. Uber-scenics have been done to death. I can only imagine what you “decay-dudes” can do with a train, tracks and mining towns!

    -Bruce

  2. Eesh… just read my comment. Sounds like I was slammin’ your tree photo which wasn’t the intent. I was supposed to be slammin’ “pretty” pictures of spring in general.

    I’ll shut up now…

    -Bruce

  3. No sense of “slammin'” from my point of view. Matter of fact, I’d be okay if some-dude challenged me to shoot something other than a plant or a lake.

    I’m stoked for Durango trip. I’m actually looking forward to finding some characters and dives along the way. It’s gonna be fun.

    -doug

  4. This is super cool, Doug. I wonder what Mike’s fisheye would do to this if shot from the trunk?

    I’m still keeping the Colorado trip in my plans, sans the train ride. I recommend thinking about Hwy 54 from Wichita to LIberal as a potential route (unless you guys are flying). There’s a lot of ghost towns/Americana on that road.

Leave a Reply

