Pushing it


I was working through some shots from a 2004 trip to Lugano, Switzerland, this weekend to get some things together for a new web gallery when I ran across this shot. In its original form it was strongly backlit and the guy in the foreground was pretty much a silhouette. I thought I’d see what I could do with it and maxed out most of the sliders in ACR: Fill Light, Recovery, Contrast, Clarity, etc. I wouldn’t do this often but on this shot I thought the result was kind of interesting — very close to an illustration with hyper-detail (it’s really wild when you see it big).
 
Anyway, don’t know what I’ll ever do with it but I thought I’d share it with you guys. Here’s another one:
 
 
 
-Michael 
3 Responses to “Pushing it”

  1. I remember talking with you about that technique months ago. I had totally forgotten about it. Glad you remembered and shared the results. Reminds me of the illustrations in old books.

    -Bruce

  2. That’s freaky in a cool sort of way. It reminds me of a lot of the HDR stuff I see all over flickr. The photo with the guy walking has a surreal quality to it.

    -doug

  3. Very cool – love these effects!

Leave a Reply

