duos

By dougstremel

March 11, 2008

Category: Uncategorized

5 Comments »

I had a blast Saturday with our model-photodude-day. I have to admit I was drained by the end of the day (maybe the two Free State Oatmeal Stouts had something to do with that). I finally got the chance over lunch today to do a little processing. Most of my day was focused on set-ups on the white background. I really love the starkness of that look. I posted duo shots of each of the four models – and then used toning that I thought complimented the shot and model. It was a fun experiment. Hopefully I can work on some more images soon.

Thanks p-dudes for a great day. -doug

camera info:

Kristen: Nikon D200 | Nikkor 17-55mm | 1/60 @ f/5 | ISO 250 (natural light w/ reflector)

Carolyn: Nikon D200 | Nikkor 17-55mm | 1/50 @ f/4 | ISO 250 (natural light w/ reflector)

Natalie: Nikon D200 | Nikkor 17-55mm | 1/20 @ f/4.5 | ISO 200 (natural light w/ reflector)

Traci: Nikon D200 | Nikkor 17-55mm | 1/80 @ f/2.8 | ISO 250 (natural light w/ reflector)

5 Responses to “duos”

  1. Nice stuff old buddy. I think I like the tight shot of Nicole in the hoodie the best.

    -Bruce

  2. Ditto, my friend. The angle of view is particularly interesting to me, and I appreciated how each angle complements the model and the scene. The post work is perfect. Tucking Natalie’s hair into her hoodie was a very nice touch.

  3. I like the high-contrast black and white on Carolyn’s shots, too. Very graphic. You just seem to see everything as a series, don’t you. It’s pretty cool.

    -Michael

  4. Thanks guys. The red hoodie shot was the first one I picked out of the whole group. Photodudes think alike, huh?

    4Mike – I do very much like duos and tryps. Maybe it’s a hold over from my video photojournalist days when the images were moving. For our next photodude adventure we should self-assign a photo essay for the given topic. Each one of us gets 5-7 images to tell a compelling story. That would be fun.

    – doug

  5. Sorry I missed the shoot, especially since all of you guys came up with some really nice work! Better organize another session Doug.

    -ferry

Leave a Reply

